Home HealthTopics Health Centers Reference Library Research
Join us on Facebook Join us on Facebook Share on Facebook

Complementary Medicine

About Glucosamine

01/03/2007

Question:

Exactly where is glucosamine derived from? Is it sourced from anywhere that would not be considered kosher (ie., shell fish...)?

Answer:

This question has been forwarded by Diet and Nutrition:

Since glucosamine can be made from the shells of shrimp, crab, and other shellfish, people with shellfish allergy or iodine hypersensitivity may have an allergic reaction to glucosamine products. A serious hypersensitivity reaction including throat swelling has been reported with glucosamine sulfate.

For more information:

Go to the Complementary Medicine health topic, where you can:

Response by:

Glen F Aukerman, MD, DABFP Glen F Aukerman, MD, DABFP
Formerly:
Professor of Family Medicine
College of Medicine
The Ohio State University